研究小组

生物信息小组

生物信息学组致力于为重要的现实世界生物和医学问题开发高效的计算方法。这些项目涵盖了从分析元基因组测序数据到基因表达分析和代谢组学等一系列令人兴奋的主题。

该小组设在 ITMO 大学的计算机技术系,并得到 JetBrains 的支持。该小组与圣路易斯华盛顿大学的 Maxim Artyomov 的实验室和 MIPT 的 Dmitry Alexeev 的实验室积极合作。

主要研究项目

比较元基因组学的算法

元基因组项目通常处理大量的数据:每个项目的测序数据多达几百 GB。为了能够有效地分析这些数据量并进行比较分析,开发了一种名为 MetaFast 的软件。它实现了一种轻量级的组装算法,介于传统的 k-mer 谱分析和全元组组装之间。该算法允许 MetaFast 将两种方法的优点结合起来:高计算性能与更多信息和更好的可解释性提取特征,所有这些都无需使用参考基因组序列。

分析开放的基因表达数据库

目前,有几个大型数据库,如 TCGA 和 GEO Omnibus,它们存储了大量的实验数据。分析这些实验并找到隐藏的相互关系是一个很有前途的领域。作为该项目的一部分,正在开发一个网络服务GeneQuery,可以找到具有类似基因调控模式的实验。使用这种搜索结果可以发现不明显的连接,这也可以促进假设的生成。

研究代谢调节的计算方法

最近,代谢调节作用被认为是免疫系统和癌症的标志之一。在这个项目中,正在开发一些方法来分析基因表达和代谢组数据来研究这种调节。目前,一些方法为网络服务 GAM 提供,用于基因表达和代谢组分析数据的集成网络分析。

小组成员

Alexey Sergushichev
Alexey Sergushichev
研究实验室/小组负责人
Sergey Kazakov
Sergey Kazakov
研究员
Alexander Loboda
Alexander Loboda
研究员
Konstantin Zaitsev
Konstantin Zaitsev
研究员
Javlon Isomurodov
Javlon Isomurodov
研究员

Research group

Bioinformatics Group

The bioinformatics group is dedicated to the development of efficient computational methods for important real-world biological and medical problems. The projects cover a diverse range of exciting topics from analyzing metagenomic sequencing data, to gene expression analysis and metabolomics.

The group is based at the Computer Technologies Department at ITMO University and supported by JetBrains. The group actively collaborates with Maxim Artyomov’s laboratory at Washington University in St. Louis and Dmitry Alexeev’s laboratory at MIPT.

Main research projects

Algorithms for comparative metagenomics

Metagenomic projects usually deal with a lot of data: up to several hundred gigabytes of sequencing data per project. To be able to effectively analyze such amounts of data and perform a comparative analysis, a software called MetaFast was developed. It implements a lightweight assembly algorithm which is something between traditional k-mer spectrum analysis and full metagenomic assembly. The algorithm allows MetaFast to combine the advantages of both methods: high computational performance with more informative and better interpretable extracted features, all without using reference genome sequences.

Analysis of open gene expression databases

Currently, there are several big databases, such as TCGA and GEO Omnibus, which store the data from a huge number of experiments. Analyzing these experiments and finding hidden interrelations is a very promising field. As part of the project, a web-service GeneQuery is being developed, which allows experiments with similar patterns of gene regulation to be found. Using the results of such a search can lead to the discovery of unobvious connections, which can also then facilitate hypothesis generation.

Computational methods for studying metabolic regulation

Recently a metabolic regulation role was recognized as one of the immune systems and cancer hallmarks. In this project, a number of methods are being developed to analyze gene expression and metabolomics data to study such regulation. Currently, some of the methods are available as a web service GAM for integrative network analysis of gene expression and metabolomics profiling data.

Group Members

Alexey Sergushichev
Alexey Sergushichev
Head of Research Lab/Group
Javlon Isomurodov
Javlon Isomurodov
Researcher
Sergey Kazakov
Sergey Kazakov
Researcher
Alexander Loboda
Alexander Loboda
Researcher
Konstantin Zaitsev
Konstantin Zaitsev
Researcher